Utah Rugs “The Rugly Truth” BLOGisode 1: Melony Runner

Preface: Tracey is a Transitional Rug that has it all. Being part traditional and contemporary rug, he is accepted by both the modern and traditional world. Everyone loves him for his versatility and ability to carry himself in a professional way, while still relating to his fellow rug-mates and society. But when everyone loves you there’s bound to be someone who wants to destroy you and see all that you have crumble before your feet. While people love Tracey for being the best of both worlds, Tracey finds himself in a character conflict; constantly confused of who he is, who he wants to be, and who he should be. All the same while trying to find his true identity and battle off old and new enemies, Tracey finds himself fancying and falling in love with Melony Runner; a modern day rug with the beauty of Persian origins. Unintentionally bringing her into the chaotic tangled weaving’s of his “rugged” life, Tracey finds himself having to make the biggest decision of his existence.

BLOGisode 1: Melony Runner

I couldn’t tell you exactly how it got like this. One day you’re on a loom being woven into existence and the next shipped off to a life already chosen for you. But who am I to complain, I’m one of the lucky ones…or so I’m repeatedly told.

“You’re the best of both worlds buddy! Transitional Rugs are hot right now. Everyone wants you!”

Funny how that works. I don’t want everyone to want me. Just one rug in particular, Melony Runner. Melony Runner is a modern day rug with Persian-like features and a kpsi (knots per square inch) count fit for the story of a goddess to be woven on her. Sometimes I often wonder if her threads were spun out of the hairs of angels. Melony, oh Melony. Of all the rugs I’ve encountered in my life none have ever had the kind of affect you have on me. She gets my knots in a bunch and makes me come undone all at the same time. I didn’t even know that was possible. Here I am “Mr. Transitional” and I can’t seem to find a single word to say to her! I just wish she knew how I felt about her and who I really am underneath all this threading. But then again who am I? I don’t even know who I am. Everyday is a constant battle of confusion; being pulled in both directions of the contemporary and traditional world. I didn’t ask for this life it was just given to me. And I don’t mean to sound ungrateful, but sometimes I just wish things were different. But be that as I wish, I can’t change what I am. And that’s the rugly truth.

